Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

humanities is very important in building ones general knowledge and students in business and sciences should of course take courses in humanities. humanities deals with human existence in general, it comprises of areas such as history, laws, geography, religion, etc. which will help broaden the general communication level of a student regardless of his/her major.

A typical example of the importance of such knowledge can be seen in the case of a business personel who finds him self in a foreign land trying to negotiate a business deal for his company, his knowledge on the history of this land and the way of life of the people will go a long way in his ability to relate and communicate with the people of that region.

Also a science graduate who desires to take up a career in government, and has no knowledge of the basic concepts of humanities or how the government works will find it difficult to function effectively as he/she might be in a position to interract daily with a broad class of people who might not even understand the concept of science. his/her knowledge of humanities will be the saving grace in times like this.

Further more as a business or science graduate, a person might land a managerial role in his/her career and will be required to mange a diverse set of people, the ability to understand the way of life of various people will help in this role to bring out the best in his/her employees. When a maneger is knowledgeable in areas such as religion and ethnicity, it gives him better understanding of his/her employees. and avoid situations whereby emplyees might be assign duties that are against their beliefs.

The general knowledge of humanity as it is seen can relate to every aspect of our everyday life, and our ability to relate with people, so whether a stundent choose to undertake a career in business or art, in other to excel in the everyday aspect of life, basic knowledge of humanities will be of a great importance.