Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Leadership position is very crucial and involves using all the necessary arsenal in other to leave a good mark and be remembered long after the person has left. Even in family, the head of the family must be adequately prepared for tough challenges so that any decision he takes will go a long way in solving the required problems. In doing all this, one must take cognizant of past happening of similar events in order to act on and take a meaningful decision on current happenings.

In Nigeria, the bitter lesson of harsh and cruel military regime in the past has made the present rulers to adjust and make laws in order to prevent such happenings. For instance, in those days of military regime, the Head of State is overtaken with ease by the military thriugh "Coup de tat" that involved blood shed in case the Head of State refused to give in easily and also the killing of top government officials. During the last military regime of General Sanni Abacha, who died on sit. Nigeria has learnt a great lesson and has amended her constitution in such a way that will be difficult for any coup to happen. Also, when Obasanjo becomes the President of Nigeria in 1999, he retired all the miliatry chiefs. He did this to prevent any coup, having once been in that position before and he knew all what they can do. Meaning he learnt from past events to take a decisive decision on present event.

Furthermore, after world war two, there were establishment of many peacemaking organizations such as UNO and others, this is to prevent another war from happening having learnt from the disastrous effect of past wars and what led to them. Ever since then, this unions have been trying their best to settle dispute among nations,curb the production of weapon of mass distruction, all this have made peace return to the planet ever since then even though we still have few civil wars that happened in some countries after then but overall, the significant outputs of this organization have been very effective.

Even in a family, parents must learn from their past mistakes when advising their children so that their wards will not make similar errors.

In conclusion, it is important to ruminate on past events and see if similar or near similar situation has happened before taken any decision as this will enable us to make effective change on cerrent situation.