Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is said that the past is a reflection of the future in the present time. One should always reflect on what has happened in the past to identify the mistakes and key takeaways so as to improve in the future. Although there are some people who believe that understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership, I strongly disagree with this statement for primarily three reasons.

Firstly, history is a great teacher as it is filled with incidents and anecdotes that can act as lessons for those who seek wisdom for the future. A lot of countries and their leaders have learnt immensely from their diplomatic accolades and pitfalls in the past, in order to shape the future of their states/countries. An example to support the statement would be to consider the ramifications of the disingenuous and faltering attack by the Afghans and other hostile tribes of Central Asia on South Asian countries, such as India. The ill-equipped and not so prepared armies of the attackers were unaware of the military strength of various provinces in India, which were strong enough to stand their ground in trying times. Under such trouncing of their troops, the Afghan leaders learnt from their mistakes of having poor strategies, poor equipments and smaller army, that led to their debacle. Hence by reflecting on the fallacies in the past, the Afghans managed to rectify their mistakes and were finally able to thread through the defences on the Indian provinces on the western front, thus enabling them to accomplish their long pending mission. Had the leaders not looked back at the past missions, they would not have learnt much from their mistakes and would have repeated the same mistakes again.

Further, it is also important to state that understanding of the past gives a deeper understanding of the roots of a culture and its people, and thus is expected of the leader to respond to the values of people if he/she aims to be a successful and equipped leader. Understanding the past gives an in-depth comprehension of the strong values of people and their thinking, and a similar benefit can be seen in the rich poetry and writing by various English writers and poets, whose emphasis on culture and rich values reflect dearly in the classics that surround us. People are impacted by literature and those who ingrain the past learnings of culture and morality in their writings create a long lasting impact, that can be realised in times to come.

Finally, looking at the past also acts as a stepping stones towards accomplishing something bigger as it has gems of work and learning that can be leveraged to achieve bigger and better results. People who do not reflect on the past always have to start from the scratch and do have a base to support them, unlike those who derive useful information from their past and experience and build on top of that to succeed. To illustrate this, we can think of a professional today such as a software engineer, who also learns mathematics at a considerable level. In accomlishing software solutions, the learnings from the past in mathematics helps engineers flex their analytical muscles and solve most problems as mathematics problems, which is a key tool in problem solving. Thus the software industry is highly impacted by people who understand their past and use that to derive useful results and implement the same to get better results.

Although it can be argued that diving too much into the past can have a negative impact as well as doing so can cloud a lot of decisions and ideas that are novel and can help people look at things differently, but doing so under a certain limit does not produce negative results as much as they do otherwise. Moreover, the trade off is in favor of understanding the past as there are more benefits that side effects of doing so. Thus understanding the past could be a good proposition to follow.

In conclusion, we can say that reflecting or understanding the past gives a more well rounded understanding of the present and helps people in positions of power to deal with situations in a better way.