People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Decision making is a skill prevalent in those people who are willing to create an impact that is sound and is beneficial not just in current times, but in the long run. Leaders all around are expected to be pragmatic and take decisions that are driven not by sentiments, but by logic. Falling in line with this school of thought, I firmly believe decisions based on emotion are faltering and poor in nature and decisions based mostly on logic are more befitting for two reasons.

To begin, it is important to consider the current situation around us in the world and how people who are more practical and less sentimental are successful in the long run. Countries all around the globe have committees and divisions that are responsible for making decisions in a more stolid, rational and feasible manner, rather than delving in a sentimental dialogue that is too far-fetched. To illustrate this, we can consider the diplomatic relations between countries such as India and China whose situation clearly describes the argument under contention. India had started a narrative of India-China brotherhood in the early 1960 and that is also the time when India defended relinquishing its seat at the United Nations for China, as the permanent member. The Indian diplomats defended their decision as an act of friendship towards the Chinese, thus portraying an example of defending an emotion decision with logic. On the other hand, land dispute between China and India in the north-eastern part of Kashmir triggered an onslaught from China's side, proving it to be a decisive move in the future of these countries and domination in the region. Thus it can be clearly seen that people who making sentimental decisions and then try to cover up their decisions with logic is not the right way of handling situations and can prove deleterious in the long run.

In addition to that, history is an amazing encyclopedia of information that has lessons abound with different teachings that one can lift. Multiple dynasties lost control of their regions due to poor decision making, a lot of which were emotional decisions. To corroborate the argument with a historical incident, we can consider the annexation of the north western part of India by the Khilji dynasty. The ruler of the opposing force to the Rajputs of India, Alauddin Khilji was a highly ambitious and unscrupulous ruler. He had a treaty with the king of Rajputs, after the first few encounters, that he would return to homeland. The poor decision making by the Rajputs led them to open the gates for the opposing force, as a gesture of honor. But emotional decision making is something that is not solid and backed by sound reasoning, which resulted in the debacle of the Rajput dynasty as Khilji attacked the Rajputs in a fearsome manner, thus eradicating them from their homeland.

Although, it can be argued that emotional decisions then backed by logic are always poor in nature. When dealing with one's family or loved ones, it is important to consider the emotional aspect of one's decision and it can be justified to compromise on the best option, for the more preferred one. But any emotional decision not based on sound logic will always have a weaker foundation and thus be susceptible to flaws and exposure, in the long run.

In conclusion, we can say that people who make emotional decisions and then back them up with logic are poor decision makers, in a holistic sense.