Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

History is bound to repeat itself if one does not heed the lessons of the past. By carefully studying the mistakes and successes of others in the past, one can effectively navigate the future and better more informed choices as a leader.

As a starting point, take the numerous disaster events that take great leadership to mitigate the effects of, like earthquakes, floods, and epidemics. Through careful observations of the fast spread of diseases and plague, we have learned to quarantine effected individuals to prevent further spreading of illness. Japan, a nation with frequent earthquakes has put into place government drills to get citizens used to evacuating in a organized manner. Building have better infrastructure to accomodate for quakes and the government is more apt at providing aid than in other lands where earthquakes are less common. Without paying attention to how such misfortunes were handled in the past, first responders and the overarching government would have very little success in helping victims.

Additionally, those at the forefront of cutting edge research and development have often relied upon and are inspired by past research. Much of modern day technology, such as virtual reality, have been built upon passion past minds. For example, NASA's leading department in virtual reality in the 90s based their first invention of virtual reality headset and goggles on many past endeavors, taking the idea of "glasses that transport you into another world" from the early short story "Pygmalion Spectacles." Without referring to the creative genius of the author of "Pygmalion Spectacles," the leading researchers at NASA would not have be able to imagine, let alone fathom, the idea of virtual reality so soon.

Thus, history guides the future and informs people in power and pioneers to make better decisions and to create more magnificent ideas. It is a powerful tool that aids in the development of modern day life.