Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating

an appealing image has become more important than

the reality or truth behind that image.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to

which you agree or disagree with the statement and

explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, you should

consider ways in which the statement might or might

not hold true and explain how these considerations

shape your position.

The speaker suggests that creating an appealing image has become more significant than the reality or truth behind that image in contemporary society. I am opposite to thus statement to some extent since it undervalues the significance of the truth which far outweighs the fake image.

As for the political area, the reality behind the created image is more valuable. While the charisma and eloquence of the candidates seems important when electing a mayor or president, the leaders who are regarded as heroes for hundreds of years have always been outstanding for their great achievement and excellent competence when they are in office rather than unidimensional charisma. For example, F.D Roosevelt, one of the most eminent politicians, implemented New Deal to alleviate the pressure of The Great Depression with the lowest rate of unemployment by promoting a myriad of reforms involving agriculture, industry, and banking fields, which dramatically ameliorated the economic condition of America in that age. Another excellent president, Barack Obama, implemented Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act which can be seen as the revolution of governmental reforms for medical care as well as Every Student Succeeds Act which improved the educational condition to a great extent. Both of these two presidents are well-known and honorable for their political achievement instead of the feigned image.

Besides, the real things behind the appealing images should also be attached great importance to in the business area. It is true that the absorbing packages of the products can bring considerable profits for the corporations in the short term, however, it is nearly impossible for the businesses to acquire long-term success merely rely on the appealing image without practical use and sterling qualities. For instance, the Apple company, the most profitable business, is popular all over the world on account of the high quality of its products like iphone and ipad. Even though these products’ appearance is also absorbing, but the main reason customers choose them is the high quality and durability of them. On the contrast, a brand named Hongcheng,which mainly sells mobile phones, has attracted great attention from the customers by its pink and cute mobile phones for several months. However, it went bankrupt soon because of the poor quality of its products. Hence, the enterprises should pay more attention to the real and practical facets of products rather than merely appearance.

Finally, with regard to the art area, the truth behind the image is more important as well. As for the movies, a classical and well-known movie always has its intrinsic advantages which can generate resonance in different generations. One good exemplar, Leon, which has been classical and popular for decades, gains fame for its deep emotion and the ability to touch one’s heart. By contrast, the movie named After earth, in which the most famous Hollywood actor, Willard Smith starred, captured the public’s attention at first because it created an image that the movie must be wonderful on account of Willard Smith. However, it turned out to be criticized seriously for its humdrum story line and poor organization. Therefore, the real quality of the art works always outweighs the feigned images of them.

To sum up, it is wrong to claim that creating an appealing image has become more significant than the truth behind the image nowadays, no matter in political, business or art area.