Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Some people believe that Universities should teach their students only the subjects of the field they have chosen. However, applying such a policy might restrict the knowledge of the student to their respective fields only. Focusing on one field is an important aspect for becoming an expert but it is also important to have a brief knowledge of another field apart from the one they have chosen. Hence, I believe that Universities should teach a variety of courses apart from the student's field of study.

Students of the 21st century not only need a thorough knowledge of their field of study but also need a basic understanding of other fields. Our current world asks for diverse knowledge and a diverse set of skills. By offering different courses to the students, Universities may train their students to handle various kinds of situations that they might face during their lives. Industries need students who possess profound knowledge of their field and also own rudimentary knowledge of other fields too. If a student studying Software Engineering possesses a keen knowledge of web development. However, full-stack developers require to work in a team and should possess effective communication skills in order to develop a user-friendly website. So, it is important that they study subjects related to communication with the subjects of Software Engineering. One-dimensional courses may not prepare students to face real-life problems.

Every field is dependent on other fields. So, when students start jobs in various industries, they will work with people from different fields. Thus, students should own basic knowledge of other fields in order to understand the jargon of different people in various fields. If a student chooses a job in a Mobile production company as a VLSI Engineer, he might work with people from the IT department. In order to design a VLSI chip that fulfills all the requirements, they must understand the jargon of IT engineering. Therefore, it becomes essential for a student to own rudimentary knowledge of IT engineering. Thus, if a University encourages students to study different courses of fields apart from their field, students may apply the knowledge gained from these courses in real life.

In conclusion, I disagree that Universities should require students to study courses only within their field. Because when students study the courses of their chosen field along with the courses of other fields their breadth of knowledge becomes wider. Hence, the probability of becoming a successful person in today's world will increase by having a wide knowledge of various fields. Overall, it is best for Universities to allow students to choose courses outside of their chosen field in order to diversify their knowledge and skill set.