Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

The students after completing their schooling when enter colleges and universities are exposed to make several crucial decisions regarding the field of the subject they will opt to enrich their career path. This decision will have a great impact on their lives and thus being serene about it is important. Although universities provide an ample amount of subjects to select for their students, it is not fruitful to indulge the students forcefully to opt for a variety of courses outside their field of interest. There are several reasons due to which it will cause a negative effect in the lives of the students.

Firstly, it is the student's choice to mold their career path according to their interests. One cannot restrict by indulging them to learn different subjects. Getting knowledge will definitely help the students in their lives at some point but when it is forced by others it will just create a feeling of pressure and ultimately causes stress. There's an experiment held by a few scientists among 2000 students from varied cultures and diversities. In that experiment, the students were divided into two categories, the first category of students were exposed to learn the subject of their own interest while the others were forced to study both their subject of interests as well as other optional subjects. After the completion of their graduation program, it was seen that the students who were just focused on their subject of interest have been more productive as compared to the other category. The number of jobs was high and the students were happier than the students who were studying several different subjects. The second category students turned out to be more stressed about their career and were subjected to fewer job opportunities due to lack of skills. With this experiment, it is pristine not to involve students in a different variety of courses mandatorily until their own choices.

Secondly, with the amalgamation of different courses, the students cannot focus on their main subject of interest. There are several other activities in universities that the students are being involved in while learning the subjects. It's not just about the bookish knowledge that will help out the students in their overall growth, instead, the students must indulge in extracurricular activities that will help them to develop both physically and mentally. Getting only book knowledge can provide the solutions to the problems but while facing the problems in real life is esoteric and thus it is required that the students must get involved in other activities such as sports, music, singing, dancing, etc. This will help the students to have a fruitful interaction among themselves which will open several paths for them to explore.

Last but not the least, the students after entering colleges have a lot of responsibilities and have to handle a lot of pressure. For taking care of their families they need to get a good job or they must be financially viable to espouse their family members. Thus, if the students are being focused on their subject of interest then it might help them to get a better job. However, if they are forced to learn other subjects then they might lose their focus and they might end up getting fewer marks in their exams which will be having a deleterious effect on their jobs and they will be ended up with less income.

To sum up, the Universities should not require their students to take several varied courses outside their field of study, as it will restrict the growth of the students because they will lose their focus and will be exposed to pressure and stress which also might lead to a feeling of depression.