Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs.

The memorandum presented by the company's vice president recommends the company to prefer Zeta's construction company over Alpha. He provided several reasons to back up his conclusion that although the Zeta'a construction company has 30 percent more construction cost than Alpha, the maintenance cost is comparatively less than that of Alpha. Moreover, the energy consumption of Zeta's building is lower than the Alpha's building since its construction. However, while the conclusion drawn by the company's vice president might hold water, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically attenuate the argument's persuasiveness. Thus, the following points need to be addressed.

Firstly, the vice president has completely neglected the locations that the two buildings are situated. It might be possible that the Alpha's building is situated in the city's prime location and therefore, it must work 24x7. While, Zeta's building, on the other hand, is situated on the outskirts of the city that encourages it to consume less energy. As the Alpha's building is open 24x7, it will be consuming more energy because of various departments working simultaneously. For instance, the canteen of the Alpha's building must be open even in night hours for the employees working in night shift hence consuming more energy.

Secondly, the argument claims that Zeta's building overall cost of construction is 30% more than that of Alpha's building. But, the author has failed to provide pieces of evidence for this fact, as both the buildings have the same floor plan. It might be possible that the Zeta company is facilitating itself by having more commission on the raw materials and the labor than the Alpha. Even if, the maintenance cost and energy consumption are lower in rate, as the same floor plan is designed for both the buildings it should be feasible if the cost remains equal.

In addition, for future reference, the Alpha company still providing a lesser construction cost than the Zeta. Nevertheless, the author seems to stick to Zeta's scheme on basis of a few dubious reasons. The author has not even considered the other side and has simply diverged the readers with his assumptions.

A careful analysis exposes the loopholes present in the argument of the author. The arguments do not seem to be strong enough to buttress the conclusion of recommending Zeta company over Alpha for the construction of new building project because all the reasons provided by the author are dubious and questionable. Hence, the author must rethink and present a logical and foolproof solution.