Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Today’s knowledge is very diverse and segregated as well as intertwined with different types of relevant subjects in a number of ways. Each subject is connected with a variety of subjects in a very delicate way. From my perspective, I mostly agree with this prompt and argue that the offering of a variety of courses from universities is required to broaden the outlook and thinking of every student outside of his/her field of study, however, if the offering of a variety of courses is too many then this can distract the student from his/her own field of interest for the following two reasons.

To begin, the current world’s knowledge is very diverse and intertwined with various types of subjects. So, if someone wants to be successful in his/her career or wants to gather holistic knowledge about his/her subject then he/she must have study outside of his/her major or field of study. For instance, a student graduated from mechanical engineering, now joining a refrigeration company, if the company wants to make a new refrigerator improvement project to boost up their sales of the refrigerator then the engineers who are involved in this project must have been aware of the economics of a project to be successful in that project. Because, If the incorporation of new technology increases the price of the refrigerator then the sales of the refrigerator might fall down, which will eventually be a backfire for that company. This example illustrates that an engineer must need knowledge outside his/her field of study to be successful in his/her career.

Secondly, almost every type of manufacturing industry consists of a variety of departments such as marketing, sales, human resource, production, etc. These types of companies need collaboration among these different departments to be successful in this very competitive world. For example, an engineer, who is general manager for the production department, needs some basic marketing or sales knowledge to make a fruitful collaboration for the betterment of the company. This example depicts that in today’s diverse world a student must need to take a variety of courses related to his field of study for the betterment of his future career.

However, I do concede that the offering of too many courses from universities may distract or even in some cases bother a student, and eventually, the student may lose interest in his/her field of study. For example, a student interested in computer engineering is admitted to a university to pursue his/her career’s goal. Now, if the university offers too many irrelevant courses like sociology, government, anthropology, which have very insignificant or no relation with his/her field of study, then the student has to spend a significant amount of time outside of his/her own major. Consequently, the student might get surprised after realizing that he/she is not getting enough time to study his/her own field of study which may disappoint him/her.

In conclusion, of course, it is true that offering too many outside courses might distract or even rankle a student, however, to have a broad outlook and to be successful in his/ her field of study, a student must need to take a variety of courses outside his/her field of study, which will be offered by his/her university.