Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

The given statement not only qualifies as one of the most crucial but also supports the idea of increasing productivity within humans. I completely agree that instead of students going into any area just because they aren't able to score well is quite stressful for them as well as a waste of an economic inhibitor from development point of view. Instead of universities grading students just on the base of marks isn't quite sufficient factor for their interest of study.

Also some of the universities have some common entrance test for students to test their abilities just based on some logical questions. This doesn't prove to be an efficient factor for the students to reflect their abilities for their field of interest. Some of the students just take up some weird field just because of such entrance tests. Even some of them are forced to change their career paths just because they aren't able to afford for the hefty tuition that universities ask for.

Just to reflect on this, some of the Indian universities have a common entrance test named JEE for the aspirants who want to pursue engineering as a career path. Even though students who have decided what they need to pursue after their entrance tests are inhibited by the marks they score in such test. Engineering colleges have their own cut offs just based on a single test for different streams that they offer to study in. This then becomes a major setback for students who then under pressure take up for the streams that they have never heard of.

Based on the above example, I would suggest that instead of universities just based on a single score judge the students must also consider some other factors such as expertise in the field of study which the student wants to pursue his/her future in. Also some projects or papers could be deciding factors for admissions into their field of expertise. Having multiple entrance test specific to the field in which the students want to go might be an encouraging factor for them to then select their universities without having a second thought.

This solution might not only allow students to gain expertise into their fields but would also increase productivity which would finally result into overall development of the country. Universities then would be able to have students who are genuinely ready to take up responsibilities which are assigned upon them instead of just being circumscribed.