“As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and more mysterious”

Knowledge is a set of facts, information and ideas that one receives with the help of education or through by experience. There a lot of people who argue that excessive knowledge could lead an individual to be left with unanswered questions and doubts, like the author. However, the sentiments expressed by the topic statement is not necessarily correct.

Knowledge has played a key role in the development of mankind over the course of history. It provided illumination on many matters that were considered to be strange and mysterious. For instance, in the primitive ages, where science was in its rudimentary form, our ancestors considered certain events such as rains, fire, and the stars and so on as mysterious and complex. They perceived these events in a spiritual way and worshipped these peculiar events. However, with the progress of time and with the increase of knowledge lead to understand these events from a scientific point of view. On the same line, stars and planets were considered to be just considered to be dots in the sky. This rudimentary view was challenged by maverick scientists whose knowledge changed the course of the world and explained these phenomena with scientific evidence that allowed people to understand and comprehend them. We build knowledge more and more upon knowledge that was previously gleaned. For instance, while building the first aero plane, the Wright Brothers had to go through several designs conceived by individuals over the years. This understanding provided them knowledge required to optimize their model, which made man’s desire to fly possible.

However, it is also true that acquiring knowledge in abundance could make things complex and incomprehensible to man. In today’s world, where sophisticated tools are easily available, we are constantly bombarded with information. These tools involve newspapers, internet, and posters and so on. While a ton of information is gained every day, it is pertinent to check the authenticity of these information’s. Excess of knowledge could lead to what is known as “information load”. This is a situation wherein, an individual is unable to comprehend the information’s. Excess of knowledge impairs an individual’s comprehension of certain matters and ability to make informed decisions. Therefore, it is to be understood that more knowledge cannot lead to more comprehension. However influx of authentic knowledge could lead to make matters simple and comprehensible.

It is to be understood that knowledge has no end. It is while discovering and acquiring new knowledge, we realize that we have tapped only the surface of the wealth of knowledge waiting to be discovered. For instance, the beginning to the nineteenth century lead to various medical advancements that cured drastic diseases that plagued the human life for centuries. This knowledge motivated researchers and scientists to gain more knowledge on the human body in order to lead a comfortable life. For instance, there have been reported cases of lung replacements which were considered impossible by humans a century ago. Similarly, the knowledge of various engines lead to development of automobiles. Knowledge of electric motors lead to the development of electric cars that proved to be the future of transportation while being fuel efficient and more over environmental friendly. Therefore, the more we acquire knowledge, the more we comprehend things and more complex matters waiting to be unveiled.

To conclude, knowledge is the key player in the development of mankind by making things comprehensible. Acquiring it has led to groundbreaking inventions that were considered impossible. However, while acquiring knowledge, one has to ensure its authenticity as the constant influx of unauthentic knowledge could lead to more confusion and hinder the growth of humankind.