The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leaders, when given unchecked power, become ruthless and oppressive. They prey on the weak, and favour their peers. When there is no institution in society to question their decisions, and curtail their authority, the consequence is that the weak become weaker, and the powerful gain even more strength. Minorities suffer and majorities rule. Ultimately, the well-being of a society is affected, which leads to greater disparities amongst citizens and abject poverty.

Look at Saudi Arabia. It is known as the king of the OPEC, and ironically is also ruled by a King. Saudis have no right to question the decisions made by the King, which gives him absolute control over the country. It allows for draconian rules to be imposed like the ban on women driving, which only recently has been lifted by the Prince Mohammad bin Salman. When power is unfettered, leaders act with impunity. The recent killing of a Saudi Journalist, Jamal Kashoggi at the Saudi consulate in Turkey was ordered by the Prince himself. World leaders denounced the Prince but no action was taken. The Saudis at home also showed little signs of protest. Hence, it is quite evident that unbridled power and authority just makes rulers more oppressive and society more inimical.

When people question authority, it can bring about massive changes in society. A significant example can be seen in India. The Muslim women had been ill treated by the patriarchal law of triple talaq for years, which allowed a Muslim man to divorce his wife by uttering the Urdu word talaq thrice, repeatedly. A protest held by women and support from other feminists around the country helped raise this issue to the national level. BJP, the ruling party soon passed an ordinance in parliament, abolishing the misogynistic law, giving Muslim women equal rights as Muslim men, in their marriage.

However, not all good can come from questioning authority and leaders. Some countries have shown that protesting against the government and its decisions causes a divide between its citizens. Singapore and China muzzle naysayers and quash any protests that can turn violent. They argue that holding protests and congregations in public places creates bedlam and an unhealthy atmosphere, which can hurt the overall morale of society. They have successfully developed their respective economies and are turning into global leaders.

Having said that, it is important to listen to people and allow them to express their concerns and complaints. Only in a democratic nation, which gives its citizens the freedom to express, can the true well-being of society be accomplished.