Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

“Accentuating on the positive and eliminating the negative” is my motto of life. It is extremely essential for teachers to exhort students into doing positive tasks and discouraging negative ones. There is a myriad of ways to help students to change their mind-set and have a positive outlook towards life. The following paragraphs will discuss some of them and explain why it is cardinal to use such techniques in pedagogy.

First is by giving them incentives to take steps in the right direction. For instance, rewarding a ten-year old with a lollipop every time he helps another student in trouble, is something that can engender positive thinking amongst children. It creates a healthy environment for everyone and is a clever technique to imbibe students with a sense of gratitude towards their peers. Also, by simply teaching children to say “thank you” and “you’re welcome” can go a long way. It develops their mind to appreciate others’ help and further teaches them good manners.

Furthermore, to instruct students to be warm to a new classmate can be of immense help to boost positive thinking and can play a bigger role in society. The recent refugee crisis in the middle east and Europe has engendered xenophobia and racism amongst the people, who are looking to protect their own interests and are reluctant to help the war stricken refugees, facing dire conditions. It is imperative to purge such emotions from society and teaching to praise positive actions to children since their childhood can play a massive role in altering their views when they grow into adults. However, dismissing all negative actions has its drawbacks as well.

Allowing constructive criticism and honest feedback is important. If negative actions are ignored or looked down upon, no leader or artist will be able to receive a review that is truthful. Additionally, it is important sometimes to depend on methods that are somewhat negative in nature to produce the best in a person. Having said that, the benefits of praising positive actions outweighs the encouragement of negative ones. Hence, the best way to teach is to promote positive thinking.