The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The well-being of a society is very important for it's development and it's people. All the developed and successful societies of the world prioritize well-being over all other things. The well-being depends on many factors like the people in the nation, their income, job, education, physical and mental health and most importantly the Government authorities. All these factors play an equal role in maintaining well-being but I agree with the statement that it is enhanced when the citizens question the authority. Because higher authorities control each and every domain of a country as it has influence and dominance over everything.

For example, the Nirbahya rape case in Delhi India caused an atmosphere of fear in the entire country and the Goverment was reluctant in hanging the culprits. but the people stood up against the authority and questioned it till the court sentenced the rapists to death. it helped in mitigating the fear among people and reduced such rape cases in the country to a huge extent. Also few years ago, fee was increased in many Indian colleges, so the students went on hunger stikes and staged many protestes to get rid of this unwanted situation. Finally they were successful and authorities were forced to normalize the fee. it helped many students who belonged to poor families in persuing the degrees that they wanted to.

If we go back to the history, we can find a lot of examples about people standing up against the different atrocious rulers and ending up achieving freedom from all their atrocities. Nelson Mandela fought against apartheid for a long time and then was sucessful in obtaining equal rights for black people as were given to white people. Hence questioning authorities is very important for achieving harmony and well being in society.