When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Preservation of historic buildings is necessary but conditional. If the premises has some historic significance, or an archaic architecture, or any unique character that can be found no where else, only than it should be preserved. In short, if by any means, the historic premises holds importance that stands greater than the needs of residents only then it should be protected. Otherwise, it is good to replace old buildings with new infrastructure. There are several benefits of getting rid of these aged buildings.

To being with, the old infrastructure and design might pose a threat on neighboring residents by being susceptible to falling. If the building is old enough, and there is no surety of it being able to survive harsh nature then it should be safely dismantled. Bad weather or light earthquake waves, which now a days has become a frequent phenomenon, pose a great threat to such weak premises.

Moreover, in densely populated urban areas there is always a shortage of space near city centers, therefore, the space uselessly occupied by these old buildings can be wisely implemented for public service infrastructures. Hospital, School, Old age home, Orphanage or a Church can always replace any old infrastructure that does nothing but stands there laughing on the fate of homeless. Take for an example, an archaic temple was dismantled brick by brick and reconstructed at a more spacious location near Delhi, in India to provide space for modern construction.

Additionally, removing an old construction can give space for various commercial infrastructures like a supermarket or recreation park or a movie theater, this will help society in several ways. In addition to aiding accessibility to neighborhood, it will generate jobs and it may become a point of attraction for residents increasing the prices/revenues of properties in proximity.

However, it is not suggested that every building be replaced with a new infrastructure. Heritage sites, attract tourism and reminds us of our culture. Furthermore, they are a symbol of greatness of our fore-bearers. Heritage sites, if maintained well, too can prove themselves of extensive use. For instance, Various old buildings in England are now serving as museums. In Delhi, old premises have been resurrected to serve as government offices.

Conclusively, as mentioned earlier, that it depends on circumstances, if the need of people has more gravity than preservation of an old useless construction, then it should be replaced.