When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

I can well recollect, a core memory of my childhood, the old and abandoned manor in my neighbourhood, a lumbering beast of the past, and how I would stare at it with astonishment and curiosity. Growing up, I witnessed how it was swept to the group, and a hospital built in its place. Buzzing with airports, shopping malls, and modern architectural feats such as sky scrapers, we can barely find any old building in the cities these days. However, the countryside, suburbs and smaller towns are especially a hot spot for such buildings. An important question that delves my mind is that, should such old buildings be preserved, or should modern development be prioritised?

A lot of abandoned and dilapidated buildings seen in growing cities serve no purpose than to occupy land which can otherwise be used in other better ways. With the rapid pace of life in the twenty-first century, there is an ever-growing need for educational institutions, hospitals, office buildings and much more. These old building, with no historical or cultural significance can be demolished to pave the path for new construction projects. This would help to suffice the needs of the current generation.

However, a lot of old buildings need to be preserved, even in the wake of modernisation. Firstly, old buildings can be a major part of the heritage of that place. For instance, the architectural style of numerous old buildings in Kolkata, built in the nineteenth century are simply irreplaceable, and of significant sentiment in the hearts of its residents. Secondly, many old buildings are of historical significance. The hideout of Anne Frank, in Amsterdam, where she spent the last part of her life, during the mass murders of the Jews by the Nazis, exhibits a haunting story of our history. Moreover, such buildings also attract multitudes of tourists around the year. The Borden house, in Massachusetts, infamous for the blood chilling axe-murders of the Borden couple, serves as a hotspot for tourists attracted by the horrid incident. Lastly, many old buildings are often preserved and renovated turning them into museums and hotels. A number of old villas and manors in the suburbs of England have become luxury stays for tourists around the world. This helps not only in protecting the history and heritage of these small villages and towns, but also boosts the economy of that place.

In conclusion, we have seen how old buildings such has abandoned buildings such as asylums, houses etc. with no historical significance can be demolished by modern architects to meet the prevailing needs of society. But, on the other hand, some of these old buildings are a significant part of the history and heritage of the place. Therefore, these buildings need to be protected and preserved. Numerous tourists visit such buildings, which contributing to an enhanced economy of the place.