The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument which appears in the memo from the Vice president of marketing at Dura-socks inc., stating that the Endure process of manufacturing socks is waste of money. is not completely logical as it has several flaws.

Firstly, the memo assumes that the customers are no longer interested in the durability of socks manfactured by the endure process. Customers buying new socks every three months does not necessarily indicate that the durable nature of socks is no longer a desirable feature in the market. Moreover, the opinion of customers is assumed to to immense importance, even though the general public might not understand the intricacies of marketing and manufacturing processes.

Secondly, the argument assumes there would be huge profits once the Endure manufacturing process is discontinued. Discontinuing the Endure process would make socks the newly manufactured socks much less durable than before. In case the socks get damaged much sooner, the company would lose customers as they would look for alternative products available in the market. Hence, this would ultimately lead to huge losses for Dura-socks.

Thirdly, the author mentioned that customer survey was conducted in the North eatern cities of United States, which is the largest market. The agrgument does not mention anything about the economical class of the customer, nor does it take into account the sitution in other smaller markets of the country. The upper class citizens might prefer stylish apprearance and colours of socks, but one can expect the customers of lower classes, and in smaller markets would choose durability of Dura-Socks over other features.

Lastly, the argument considers discontining the previously used Endure process to be profitable. The machinery used for the Endure manufacturing might not be suitable for other manufacturing procedures available in the market, and hence the company might require to procure new machines, and thus need greater investments. This would prove to be a barrier in the path of earning greater profits.

Hence, we can infer that the conclusion of the argument that discontinuing the Endure manufacturing process would increase the profits of the company is not entirely sound. However, the argument can be strengthened by conducting a study detailing upon the fetures of the socks considered desirable by customers would help to evaluate the prevailing situtaion. Additionally, a market survey taking in account the customers of all economic classes from both smaller and larger markets would help to decide if the apperance of socks is preffered over durability, as a vast majority.