The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

The argument that appears on the memo from the Vice President of sartorian, a men's clothing manufacturer that, manufacturing Alpaca overcoats after a gap of five years would surely raise the profits of the company, is not completely logical as it has several flaws.

Firstly, the Vice president assumes that there would be a higher customer demand for Alpaca overcoats, since they have not been manufactured by Sartorian, or their competitors for a few years. It only takes in account the current manufacturing status of the company's major competitor. The public might have moved on to other small scale clothing industries of local businesses to meet the demand for Alpaca overcoats.

Secondly, the argument assumes that the demand for Alpaca overcoats have remained steady and has not been met over the past five years since Sartorian stopped manufacturing them. The public might have found other alternative products, such as faux-fur overcoats, which, in case if cheaper, would result into a cessation of demand for the Alpaca coats in the market.

Thirdly, the assumption that the customers would be ready to significantly higher prices that they did five years ago seems unreasonable. A lot of factors are involved in determining the price of a product in the market. Even if Alpaca coats are of high demand once launched by Sartorian, an extremely high price tag might actually repel customers who cannot afford it. Hence, if the Alpaca overcoats are not sold because of their high price, it would definitely result to a loss for the company.

Hence, we can infer that, the Vice President's conclusion that Sartorian men's clothing would definitely earn huge profits once it starts manufacturing Alpaca overcoats have been found to be illogical. However, the argument, can be strengthened by conducting and providing information of a market survey. the market survey must take into account the trends of Alpaca overcoat demand in the market, presence of alternative products, increase or decrease in the prices, and whether there are other competitors manufacturing the same products. This statistical data would help to asses if Sartorian would gain profits upon manufacturing Alpaca overcoats.