When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Planners may believe that demolishing a historic building might be the most profitable way to revitalize a town or city. Individuals who are involved in these decisions need to take into account many different factors. Preservation of historic buildings should be very important to towns both big and small.

Planners may believe that a piece of land could be better suited for redevelopment, but the historical value of a building may be worth significant more to the town and its people. Old buildings were made in way that is not common any more. The intricacies are unprecedented in modern architecture. Buildings that have these attributes should be cherished. In addition, historical building in America are eligible for funding from many sources.

Considering the historical value of a proposed redevelopment project is very important, but modern planners also need to take into account their intended costumer when they are deciding to redevelop historic buildings. Many young professions are drawn to areas with a rustic antique charm. Young millennials who are looking for a place to start their life are drawn to areas that have an old and unique feel. It might be tempting to build a brand new large communities of apartments and shopping, but if the area is too industrial young people may not be as intrigued to live there.

Planners and individuals involved in the decision to redevelop an old building should consider the intended costumer in addition to all options for redevelopment before deciding on a plan of action. There are endless option when it comes to redevelopment for old buildings. If they are a danger to the communities it may be best to demolish the building. In contrast, if the building is in very good condition it would be significantly less wasteful to refurbish the existing building. If the “bones” of the said building are good, but the inside is in disrepair it may be less wasteful keep the outside of the building and upgrade the building inside. Overall it is less wasteful to keep any usable parts of a building. The building planners could decide to build around the existing building if the existing property wasn’t large enough for the intended projects.

Historical buildings should be preserved to maintain its historical charm and history, attract the desired tenants, and reduce waste that can be occurred during construction.