While most of the environmental problems that we face result from the use of technology, society must depend upon technology to find solutions to these problems.

The subject statement can be divided into two parts. The first part claims that most of the environmental problems are a result of the use of technology and the second part claims that in order to solve those environmental problems, society must depend upon technology to find solutions to those problems. I agree with both parts of the statement and my agreement with the statement can be understood well as I discuss it in the subsequent paragraphs.

I agree that most of the environmental problems that we face result from the use of technology. This statement is particularly true in today's modern industrial society. The technology that we developed in the 20th century does not work in harmony with the environment. It causes some form of damage to the environment. For example, the automobiles that were developed during the industrial revolution run on gasoline and diesel and produced air pollutants such as carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide and nitrous oxide. The early refrigerators and air conditioners used CFCs as cooling agent that damages the Earth's protective Ozone layer. The plastic used in the packaging industry does not breakdown naturally for thouands of years and therefore is accumulates as piles of garbage. Each of these technologies return some form of pollutant back to the environment or damage the environment in some other way. However, if we develop technology that works in balance with the environment, we might be able to deal with our current environmental problems.

During the late 20th century, when scientists and politicians became aware about the environmental problems that the society was facing, they took important decisions to tackle and solve those problems. For example, when scientists discovered the hole in the Ozone layer caused by the use of CFCs in refrigerators and ACs, they developed alternate freezing agents to replace the CFCs. Additionally, many corporations and government politicians took steps to implement this new technology and ultimately the society, by working collectively and using new technology, was able to find solution to an environmental problem that was caused as a result of the use of technology. In current time, scientists and engineers are developing electric vehicles and biodegradable alternatives to plastics to solve two of the most critical environmental problems - global warming and plastic pollution - both of which are a result of the use of the use of non-envvironment friendly technologies. And they already are on the path of success. Not only this, some scientists have developed the technology of carbon capture, as a way to reduce the amounts of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere and thus help prevent climate change.

It is evident that even though most environmental problems result from the use of technology, we can still develop and refine our technology to become most environment friendly and use it to solve these problems.