Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position The best

The following sample issue response received a score of 6:

Whenever people argue that history is a worthless subject or that

there is nothing to be gained by just “memorizing a bunch of stupid

names and dates,” I simply hold my tongue and smile to myself.

What I’m thinking is that, as cliche as it sounds, you do learn a

great deal from history (and woe to those who fail to learn those

lessons). It is remarkable to think of the number of circumstances

and situations in which even the most rudimentary knowledge of

history will turn out to be invaluable. Take, for example, the issue

at hand here. Is it better for society to instill in future leaders a

sense of competition or cooperation? Those who have not examined

leaders throughout time and across a number of fields might not

have the ability to provide a thorough and convincing answer to

this question, in spite of the fact that it is crucial to the future

functioning of our society. Looking closely at the question of

leadership and how it has worked in the past, I would have to agree

that the best way to prepare young people for leadership roles is to

instill in them a sense of cooperation.

Let us look first at those leaders who have defined themselves

based on their competitiveness. Although at first glance it may

appear that a leader must have a competitive edge in order to gain

and then maintain a leadership position, I will make two points on

GRE General [This footer should NOT be printed.] 5/15/2012 LT18-PracTest3_Sampleresp-rev_02

-13-

this subject. First, the desire to compete is an inherent part of

human nature; that is, it is not something that needs to be “instilled”

in young people. Is there anyone who does not compete in some

way or another every single day? You try to do better than others in

your school work or at the office, or you just try to do better than

yourself in some way, to push yourself. When societies instill

competitiveness in their leaders, it only leads to trouble. The most

blatant example in this case is Adolf Hitler, who took competition

to the very extreme, trying to prove that his race and his country

were superior to all. We do not, however, need to look that far to

find less extreme examples (i.e., Hitler is not the extreme example

that disproves the rule). The recent economic meltdown was caused

in no large part by the leaders of American banks and financial

institutions who were obsessed with competing for the almighty

dollar. Tiger Woods, the ultimate competitor in recent golfing

history and in many ways a leader who brought the sport of golf to

an entirely new level, destroyed his personal life (and perhaps his

career -- still yet to be determined) by his overreaching sense that

he could accomplish anything, whether winning majors or sleeping

with as many women as possible. His history of competitiveness is

well documented; his father pushed him froma very early age to be

the ultimate competitor. It served him well in some respects,

but it also proved to be detrimental and ultimately quite destructive.

-14-

Leaders who value cooperation, on the other ahnd, have historically

been less prone to these overreaching, destructive tendencies. A

good case in point would be Abraham Lincoln. Now, I am sure

at this point you are thinking that Lincoln, who served as President

during the Civil War and who refused to compromise with the

South or allow secession, could not possibly be my model of

cooperation! Think, however, of the way Lincoln structured his

Cabinet. He did not want a group of “yes men” who would agree

with every word he said, but instead he picked people who were

more likely to disagree with his ideas. And he respected their input,

which allowed him to keep the government together in the North

during a very tumultuous period (to say the least).

My point in choosing the Lincoln example is that competitiveness

and conflict may play better to the masses and be more likely to be

recorded in the history books, but it was his cooperative nature that

allowed him to govern effectively. Imagine if the CEO of a large

company were never able to compromise and insisted that every

single thing be done in exactly her way. Very quickly she would

lose the very people that a company needs in order to survive,

people with new ideas, people ready to make great advances.

Without the ability to work constructively with those who have

conflicting ideas, a leader will never be able to strike deals, reach

consensus, or keep an enterprise on track. Even if you are the

-15-

biggest fish in the pond, it is difficult to force your will on others

forever; eventually a bigger fish comes along (or the smaller fish

team up against you!).

In the end, it seems most critical for society to instill in young

people a sense of cooperation. In part this is true because we seem

to come by our competitive side more naturally, but cooperation is

more often something we struggle to learn (just think of kids on the

playground). And although competitive victory is more showy,

more often than not the real details of leadership come down to the

ability to work with other people, to compromise and cooperate.

Getting to be President of the United States or the managing

director of a corporation might require you to win some battles,

but once you are there you will need diplomacy and people-skills.

Those can be difficult to learn, but if you do not have them, you

are likely to be a short-lived leader.