Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both the views presented.

Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning.

Some people think that competition among students for grades leads to better overall improvement of both of them. Although, this reasoning is true, I firmly believe that more often than not, such competition results in lack of growth of the concerned students in future.

Students who compete with the top graders in the class tend to focus and divert most of their valuable time in mugging up the syllabus, rather than critically examining the stuff that they are reading and finding out the reasons behind the theories. Such a kind of attitude towards exams, may lead to achieving excellent grades during the school period, but will do little good when it comes to actually implementing the concepts in professional career. Competitive attitude among peers hampers their growth. Instead, peers should be looked at as sources of knowledge rather than competition. Rather than trying to overcome the respective counterpart, students should try to learn from them and adopt their methods and ideologies in achieving good grades.

Such was the message from the film 3 Idiots, in which a boy named Rancho(Aamir Khan) along with his two friends tried to encourage each and every student in their college to pursue after their dreams rather than the grades, for having a successful and satisfied life. The film demonstrated the exact point mentioned in the issue, where a competing attitude of one student eventually lead him to realize, that education is more important than achieving good grades for being successful in life.

Although, one cannot argue that healthy competition ensures dilligent effort by both the concerned parties and therefore, a better overall outcome. But healthy competition is hard to achieve. More importantly, competition against a less talented student might enable you to create a false sense of achievement, thus denying you of realising your own true potential. Thus, before competing with the other students, competition should be with yourself first. Competing with self can enable you truly to realise the faults that you made previously, and thus such audit of yourself can entail an improved personality in future.

For example, during my school days, I too used to compete with one of my friends for high grades. It not only created enmity between the two of us, but also after unable to achieve more grades than my friend, it made me despondent. Thus, learning from my mistakes, during college, rather than going for the grades, I spent time improving my basic concepts and thus was able to top the college during my first year.

In conclusion, although, competition on the outside, tends to potray a sense of growth in both the parties, is inherently deterring them of achieving their full potential and thus hampering their growth. Thus, I believe, that students should be encouraged to freely welcome guidance from their peers, rather than looking up to them as rivals that one should contest with. Moreover, schools are a place for learning, not for contesting.