Being patriotic to one’s country helps identify who we are. All countries should celebrate a “National Day” such as Australia Day as a public holiday. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many countries demonstrate pride in their heritage by celebrating a national public holiday. A day such as Australia Day can improve feelings of patriotism towards one’s country as well as country towards the basic right of taking a public holiday.

Firstly, celebrating a country’s national day makes the citizens feel proud of their country’s historical and national achievements. For example, a national day might commemorate a country’s independence from a tyrannical power, such as France’s Bastille Day (14 July) or America’s Independence Day (4 July). Moreover, it is a time for all citizens to participate in celebrations and feel solidarity with their country’s founders and fraternity towards their fellow citizens.

Secondly, a national day can contribute to a country’s quota of public holidays. All workers should be entitled to a certain number of paid holidays per year what better way to achieve this than a national holiday. A public celebration can be enjoyed by all, including new and established citizens.

However, some national holiday celebrations may incite over-the-top feelings of national pride which can turn to xenophobia at the drop of a hat. This has been demonstrated through recent Australia Day violence which has sadly marred this to violence, with more structured celebrations and a higher police presence this can be avoided.

Overall, celebrating a public holiday which encourages national pride and feelings of companionship towards friends, neighbors, and co-workers is a good idea but care must be taken that it does not exacerbate racist xenophobic attitudes.