Deforestation caused by human activity is happening in many parts of the world, with serious results for the environment. What do you think can be done to solve this problem?

Forests are one of the most important natural habitat of many animals including birds, insects, worms and mammals. Forests also indirectly help conserving habitat of aquatic wildlife by maintaining steady water flow and preventing soil erosion. Forests also have a huge impact on climate and weather and the role of trees on controlling air pollution is obvious. So clearly deforestation can have a huge negative impact on environment. And the most important cause of deforestation is the logging industry.

Firstly, logging industry like any other industry work on the basis of supply and demand principle. Supply of this industry is trees and the demand is myriad forms of wooden products. So the simplest solution that comes to mind is decreasing demand, which means using less wooden products. For example we can use less papers, as the most usual wooden product. Hopefully this is so easy to maintain by using electronic books, emails and so on.

As another solution to this problem, governments can force logging companies to stick to more responsible logging practices. For example governments can give authority to environmental defender groups to have control over logging practices. Having a scientifically controlled logging practice, the damage to environment can be decreased significantly. For example they can forbid logging companies from felling trees in a specific zone.

In summary, I think by applying this two simple solutions, firstly, using less wooden products and secondly, by controlling logging practices, we can significantly decrease deforestation extents and consequently decrease damages to environment.