Governments should be responsible for funding and controlling scientific research rather than private organizations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Scientific research is expanding worldwide and more people are participating in this area. Although governments have been providing funds and monitoring research, I agree that private organizations would play a better role.

Those who are not in favour of governments being in charge of research argue against it for several reasons. First and foremost, insufficient funds and manpower have inevitably been the obstacles for studies to be carried out under the policy of those local authorities. Even if the study proposal is feasible and would benefit the community, without financial aids and full co-operation from the staff, the project would ultimately be a waste. Furthermore, there are reports of unequal distributions of scientific projects to the respective ones. A company may be given the priority over another based on some unwarranted criteria, but the issue at play is how much that company will be willing to engage in corrupted business.

Private organizations, on the other hand, may contribute better to scientific studies. Firstly, they have better facilities with modern state-of-the-art technology as well as highly qualified experts with vast experience on certain specialised area. Not to mention, adequate financial assistance from worldwide funding. As such, surveillance of projects could be carried out regularly and progress monitored consistently. In addition, results of the research could be published in reputable journal, making known the latest or most advanced development to the experts as well as the public.

In summary, private organizations’ role in scientific studies is of paramount importance. More future research should consider applying for assistance from these companies.