Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Whether or not there is an increase in price of oil to be the best way to deal with growing traffic and polluted issues is a hotly debated issue. There are those who argue that it is absolutely crucial to rise the oil price. Some others do not support for this view. From my point of view, it is impossible to increase the price of oil in coping with contamination and traffic for some undeniable reasons.

First of all, oil price has made a huge contribution to impact on stable economy. Obviously, if there is a significant increase in oil price, all of kinds of necessary facilities will be put to a higher price. As a result, this would lead to not being steady in the market; inflation may appear and cause harms for the economy. More seriously, a severe pressure would be put on the shoulder of the employees who have low incomes because they must pay for something with pricey prices.

Another reason is that commuters also pay a large amount of money for buying a public transport ticket. A potential drawback is that public transports might not be the priority choice for people and this service will be on the bank of bankruptcy due not many people using it. What is more, governments should acknowledge that oil price does not have a decisive role in reduction of traffic congestions as well as pollution. For instance, in 2010 the Vietnamese government increased oil price with the hope of the down ward trend of traffic and contaminated issues, but the result had positive aspects.

To reduce traffic and pollution, it is essential to have a wide range of appropriate solutions for this issue. As far as I am concerned, the best way to do this, governments should reduce price of ticket of public transport. Also, it should be free of charge for those who are under 10 years of age and disable people. Furthermore, people who use private cars to go to work, they should be imposed on a heavy tax to encourage them to use train, bus or tube. On the other hand, governments have strategies to upgrade infrastructure and widen street to cope with traffic and limit the least number of old cars running on the roads because these care emits a great deal of smoke.

It seems to me that rising oil price is not a suitable congestion. If it is done, many negative results will be effect on the economy. It is necessary to have different appropriate solutions for this issue to deal with traffic as well as pollution.