It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the media in our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media rich society

As media is considered an important organ in most of the country, it is almost impossible to escape from its control in our everyday life. In this essay I am going to discuss some of the merits and demerits of residing in a media dominated community.

One of the important benefits of staying in such sorts of societies is, people can be frequently updated with current news and gossips. Radio, TV, newspapers are few examples of media which provides such information to its listeners and viewers. Take for example; a country with large number of media could save thousands of life by spreading excessive amount of breaking news about forecasted natural disasters. This can help people to become alert, prepare and move for their safety. Similarly, a society with huge media influence can have frequent exposure to outside world. This gives people updated information about what is happening around the world. Thus, living in media dominance communities could be beneficial.

On the other hand, living in a media rich societies have also some drawbacks. Societies with full of media tends to exaggerate the news to achieve publicity so that it can survive in the competitive market. Such kind of unhealthy practise has often severe effects on popular people. For instance, USA has a large number of media where different controversial and private news about Hollywood celebrities and politician are always on the priority. Such action often creates frustration and anger towards media.

In conclusion, living in media dominated societies has both pros and cons and it is always going to influence our ways of life in one or other way.