It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn the distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Children brought up in different kind of parenting styles, some parents imposed different house rules so that their child can learn to follow rules while young. A break in the rules usually corresponds a sanction as a consequence. Punishment role in childhood still instill a question on how this affects their behavior. I believe that punishment serves as a way for children to avoid inappropriate behavior and will be beneficial for them in the long run.

Just like how adults received a certain sanctions from a government like driving violations or late tax payment, children, same with adults must learn to follow rules at an early age. It will serve as a preparation for them towards adulthood. However, these must be imposed carefully and make sure that will it will not end up to abuse. One of the many researches suggest that positive reinforcement is a good way to discipline. For example, when a kid clean up his toys without telling them, a reward will be offered. It could be a nice ice cream treat or buy his favorite toy.

Some teachers think that a certain misbehavior deserves a grounds to let their student learn. For an instance, kindergarten teachers praises their students who behaves well and put some star stamps in their hands as a recognition while those who do not receive nothing.

I believe that punishment helps our youth a lot if it will be introduced early on their age, however, it should be done fair and square. I strongly suggest that physical punishment will not be necessary since this will lead to abuse and the rights of every children should be given to them as well, and that is to be treated well same as with the adults.

Disciplinary actions varies a lot, but as long as it is properly imposed, our youth benefits from it and will turn them to be a good citizens of the future.