Many children today find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention to school. What could you think of as the main causes of this? What are the possible solutions?

Nowadays, children seem to have short attention span to whatever they are doing. Knowing the reasons behind these is important for this can affect their performance not just in classes, but more significantly on their personal development. In this essay, I will be discussing why children are having a hard time focusing in class and I will be stating some possible solutions which can help address the problem.

Several factors are affecting students' concentration in their school activities. Firstly, a child may be lacking the energy to pay attention in class. As we all are aware of, many of the kids nowadays have other activities outside the campus such as dance lessons, basketball tournaments or swimming lessons which drains their body's strength. Moreover because of too much time on these activities, sometimes they do not have much enough rest to review their lessons or do advanced reading on subjects they are catching up. As a result, they tend to be physically present in class but their minds are somewhere else.

Secondly, teachers play a vital role in the participation of students. Children loves interactive and fun type of learning style. When the teachers are too serious, they tend to lack the motivation to learn and listen attentively to the lectures. This leads to poor performance in school.

Finally, a very serious problem that children might be facing, that causes them to easily get distracted is having family issues at home. Many children face home troubles such as parents' divorce or fight, physical or verbal abuse or lack of support. Children are mainly the sufferers of these issues that they eventually develop mental or intellectual disabilities which cause them inability to focus in academics.

Both parents and teachers should work hand in hand to resolve the problems that student are facing. One way to do this is for parents to engage their kids only to certain activities that they really like and make sure that there will be enough time for rest and study. Another thing, if there are fights between parents, they should be discreet about it and not let children see them so they won't be affected. For teachers, they should develop a plan that will help students participate well in class such as more fun and rewarding activities.

In conclusion, children are likely dependent on their elderlies so parent and teachers should share responsibilities in giving them a helping hand whenever they feel it is needed.