Modern forms of technology make us less rather than more communicative. To what extent do you agree?

Advancements of technology in this current era have made a remarkable impact on the society. The use of modern devices and social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, made communication much easier. But sometimes I think that with this innovation, it has made people less communicative in some ways.

With the rise of modern mobile phones and access to the Internet, real time communication has been made easier and cheaper. Sending messages and long distance calls can be free with the use of messengers such as Skype, Facebook and Viber. In addition, some of these messengers includes a video call feature that makes a face to face possible. Furthermore, posting photos, videos or status in these social media sites makes families, friends or lovers keep updated with their current lives.

A massive number of people in different ages nowadays use these advanced forms of communication to keep in touch. However, in some cases, instead of making people communicate more, it has become the opposite. They’ve become more engaged on the entertainment these devices and social media can offer. Examples of these entertainment includes application games, Youtube videos, keeping updates on a celebrity in social networking sites. Since some of these people focus more on these activites, they tend to forget about socializing with the people in their surroundings. A common instance is when friends are hanging out yet they spend more time checking out their mobile phones than interacting with one another. Even in social gatherings, some pretend to be busy on their devices basically to avoid conversations.

Technology has always made a huge effect on society’s communication system. Although it made an immense improvement on the way people could reach each other, it has also made them less communicative since they are fonder of its entertainment feature. Hence, less interaction with other people.