Libraries should focus on improving their technological resources rather than on building a large collection of paper books. To what extent do you agree?

With the usefulness of the modern technology, there is a significant decrease in the number of people who choose to read paper books in preference to using e-books. Therefore, it is suggested that libraries should put more investment in developing there technological resources rather than building a large pile of paper books. However, I totally disagree with this statement for 2 reasons.

At the outset, the essence of the libraries does not commensurate with the presence of high technology which is assumed to help people acquire more knowledge. Initially, it is obvious that there are a lot of valuable, useful books that are not available on the internet or other forms of technological advances. As a result, people will find it useless and a waste of money when putting a lot of resources to upgrade the technological devices in the libraries which contains an colossal number of the greatest books of all the time. Furthermore, libraries are also considered as the most appropriate place to study. If there are more and more technological resources in this space, it is difficult for people to focus on their work as they keep their mind on using these high-tech appliances.

Apart from that, I believe the benefits of reading paper books outweigh those of utilizing technology. It is scientifically proven that when people read paper books, it is highly likely that they will remember it much longer, which contributes to boost the productivity of reading books dramatically. In addition to that, technology is the most probable factor distracting people from reading. According to a survey, when choosing e-books, most of people only read some first pages of the books as they are easily distracted by other programs. Not only does it not result in any positive outcome but it is also time-consuming and low-productive. In contrast, paper books give people the chance to fully concentrate on their reading and immerse completely in another world.

To recapitulate, I wholeheartedly disagree that there should be more efforts in enhancing the technological facilities in the libraries.