Some people believe that computers are more a hindrance than a help in today's world. Others feel that they are such indispensable tools that they would not be able to live or work without them.

In what ways are computers a hindrance?

What is your opinion?

There is no denying that computer revolution has positively affected people’s life on a massive scale. Nonetheless, it has been argued that whether computers are more a hindrance rather than a support. In my point of view, I totally agree with this motion.

At the outset, computer is undeniably a contributing factor which makes people become more and more passive and gradually losing some of their innate abilities. The overuse of computers with the aim of looking for information or a solution for a problem is the main cause of the loss in people’s problem-solving skill on their own or their creativity. Individuals tend to depend so much on this smart device that they find it unfeasible to devise a new idea or figure out their problems without a computer. As a result, there has been an upsurge in the number of people who are out of work owing to be replaced by computers.

Apart from that, it has been apparently proved that computers can lead to a considerable rise in people’s mental and physical health problem. Initially, that people choose to sit in front of the screen at terminals in preference to engage in some outdoor activities has been linked with repetitive strain injury, headache, eyestrain, etc especially in youngsters. Furthermore, according to telegraph.co.uk, spending just five hours a day on computer can hugely intensify the risk of suffering from depression and insomnia. Therefore, this can cause a respectable reduction in life expectancy as well as exert a negative impact on the development of the countries.

Last but not least, computers are an element causing a significant increase in crimes. Computers have made it much more likely for children and adolescents to access to inappropriate websites which involves violence, sexual abuse or crime. As a consequence, in all probability, they will emulate these unacceptable behaviors, which will result in a rise in juvenile delinquency.