Vietnam society has changed significantly in the past few decades. However, a lot of traditional values have been lost, which is a pity. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

When globalization takes place in many different ways and brings profound changes in people’s life, it is often said that Vietnam has lost its traditional culture, which definitely exert a negative impact on the sustainable development of the country. However, to my view, I totally disagree with this statement.

Initially, Vietnamese culture reflected by different aspects: religion, art, festivals, clothes has been apparently protected and stimulated by both the individuals and the government. Long standing values have been kept within generations in family and in the society when a lot of traditional events, holidays have been held annually and attracted high attendances. Furthermore, there is no denying that the traditional culture plays a crucial part in a lot of industries in Vietnam, which gives rise to the socio economic development of the country. For example, the authority promotes cultural tourism as an efficacious way to preserve, take pride in our cultural identity and bring the national image to the international stage. Not only tourism but also the fashion industry has been developed significantly on the basis of our national clothes.

Apart from that, the eradication of some traditional practices is an inexorable part in the development of an advanced culture deeply imbued with national identity. First and foremost, it is crucial to erase some obsolete, superstitious beliefs or lifestyles especially in some ethnic minorities which not only negatively influence people’s life but also hold back the socio economic development of the whole country. In addition, there have been some traditional practices which are not totally bad, formed by the long standing habits and lifestyle of the locals but inappropriate in the modern life, causing a lot of issues to the society. Therefore, some proactive measures including raising people’s awareness and enacting laws should be taken to obliterate these customs. In general, the elimination of some practices is highly likely to make contribution to create a more civilized society.

To sum up, I believe a lot of cultural heritages have still plays an integral part in Vietnamese spiritual life and also laid a firm foundation to the sustainable development of our country.