The environment problems facing today’s world are so great that there is little ordinary people can do to improve the situation. Government and large companies should be responsible for reducing the amount of damage being done to the environment.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often claimed that our environment is affected so adversely that each person find it impossible to do something to change this situation and it is the responsibility of the government. Nevertheless, while I agree the government has to take proactive measures with the aim of reducing the damage being done to our planet, I disagree that there is nothing the residents can do to make it better.

First and foremost, it is crucial for the government accompanied by companies or international organizations to make co- ordinated efforts to curb the global environmental deterioration. Initially, they need to utilize alternative resources instead of natural sources like fossil fuels which can make a great contribution to our polluted environment. New environmentally friendly sources of energy for vehicles are definitely being developed with a view to control the alarming rate of carbon footprints as well as harmful smoke in the air. Besides that, strict restrictions along with laws should be imposed so as to diminish emissions of pollutants and thorough tests need to be placed on the process of waste treatment before being dumped directly into the environment. Last but not least, vest tracts of land are allocated for wildlife conservation, which can help a plethora of endangered species spared the fate of extinction.

However, I wholeheartedly believe that the most productive method is to nurture the individual’s awareness. Unless all citizens in the world are fully conscious of the gravity of the situation ecological degradation which has been happening in their own countries can never be halted. It is a well – known fact that people always expect too much from our government, scientists and engineers while, in the mean time plenty of factories and households have dumped an enormous amount of toxic waste into the rivers, lakes, ocean and litter the streets everywhere. As a consequence, raising human’s understanding plays the most integral part in the process of reducing environmental pollution. The educational system have to make a great change to start developing everyone’s realisation especially children in primary and secondary schools that each of our activity can have a wide influence on our future life. The most essential obligation is to instill the urgent need of taking care of our polluted environment into the psyche of each and every member of the society. The great effort that the government and big companies make will be worthless if we are not capable of changing people’s mind.

To sum up, it is crucial for everyone to stop their destructive behaviors to the environment.