some people say when a person travels into a new culture they should adapt to the local practices and customs. what extent do you agree or disagree? -- DISAGREE

For the past ten years, tourism has become the backbone industry of many countries. However, tourism can create conflicts at times between people from different cultures when difffering beliefs collide. Therefore, it is often suggested that people should follow the local lifestyles of the country they visit. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this motion.

To commence with, the attempt to adapt to all local customs wherever people visit is highly likely to exert a negative impact on individuals themselves. First and foremost, this obsession with multicultural lifestyle is the main determinant which is a motive for losing their own cultural identities. It is alarming that people especially youngsters always idolize and emulate other cultures of every place they set foot on or change the core values of themselves to fit in a particular environment. As a result, they may find foreign practices an indispensable part of themselves and a great substitute for their national traditions. This can inevitably lead to a total loss of cultural identity.

Apart from that, the hope to be habituated to all local rituals can intensify the possibility they have to subject to a mental illness called cultural disorder. This condition is caused when they apply themselves to have plethora of different habits and makes them unconscious of what lifestyles would be appropriate in each regions. Therefore, the determination to adjust to every tradition can land themselves into a situation in which not only they lose their cultural unique values but also have some completely strange improper behaviors and beliefs.

In addition to that, the society can reap a lot of benefits from the persistence to hold on to their original customs of international visitors. That they bring their traditional cultures to every part of the world will be the fundamental foundation to make their national identities widely known across the globe. Both tourists’ and locals’ perspectives of cultural distinctiveness in all over the planet will be significantly broadened, which can make the residents take interest in their tradition, therefore, attract more international travelers to their country. Furthermore, if individuals have the intention of take residence permanently in a place they visit, their own national practices will definitely make an enormous contribution to the formation of a multi cultural society.

To sum up, I wholeheartedly believe it is unnecessary to alter individual styles to a foreign community.