The money spent on space research has brought enormous benefits to mankind, but it could be more usefully applied. How far do you agree?

It is believed that an enormous amount of government expenditures of each country, is invested to research concerning space. There are some people, who agree that money was worth spending in outer space projects, while there are others, who believe that there are important issues for the humanity, where money should be invested.

This argument has merit, if we consider the enormous environmental problems of our planet. The green-house effect, the air and water pollution, the global warming are some of the difficulties that we have to tackle with. Money could be spent to support research on alternative friendly environmental ways of living, Some steps have been done with the existence of biofuels or waste treatment centres applied to industrial areas. However a continuous research is vital.

Furthermore, health is a field that requires an abundance of money. This is for a good many reasons. First and foremost the existence of new diseases, such as cancer, is fierce and constitutes significant danger for human life. Research on the application of new treatments and the effects that they may have to the human body demands a marked amount of wealth. Additionally, the already existed facilities (hospitals, nursing homes) regarding health system ought to be enhanced worldwide. For example, in South European countries, people often are concerned about the shortage of beds in the hospitals, as many patients are asked to return to their home, due to the lack of available beds.

On the other hand, we could not underestimate the importance of space research. The recent announcement of NASA regarding the latest finding about the existence of water on Mars has brought a lot of satisfaction to the scientific community. The investigation of life on other planets is one of the significant challenges for the 21st century.

Personally, I believe that money should ne allocated wisely between the worldwide problems, that need immediate solution and to space projects. In this way the society could maintain sustainable.