More and more qualified people are moving from poor to rich countries to fill vacancies in specialist areas like engineering, computing and medicine.

Some people believe that by encouraging the movement of such people, rich countries are stealing from poor countries. Others feel that this is only part of the natural movement of workers around the world.

Do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that richer countries take advantage of poorer countries by stealing highly skilled workers like doctors, engineers and IT specialists. However, I believe that this is a natural phenomenon that happens to the majority of people in such professions around the world.

There are some people who contend that the movement of skilled workers from poor to rich country is a process of stealing the precious resources, and this should be stopped. However, in my view, this phenomenon can be justified for a good reason. Migrant workers have always been attracted by the wider choice of employment both in their own countries and overseas. As technologies continue to advance in developed countries, they find themselves with lack of manpower to support the development. Thus, they have had to look for and recruit additional competent workers in other parts of the world. For example, many richer European countries have been attempting to attract IT specialists from India by offering better conditions and higher salaries than they could get in their own country. At the same time, many of them, who consider their careers to be undervalued in their home countries and believe that they deserve more in terms of their recognition and dignity, would choose to work in a particular foreign country in which their positions are better appreciated.

Furthermore, the majority of people tend to pursue happiness in a variety of their own ways, and working abroad can be seen as a sense of purpose in their lives. Firstly, with the better job position, migrant workers can derive a sense of satisfaction from earning higher income and achieving success in the new country. Secondly, most people would desire to live in better environment. Foreign countries may provide improved public services and the company may ensure the healthy working environment. Finally, a period of work oversea can broaden a worker’s horizons. There will be an opportunity for the person to interact with people of various nationalities, and learn their cultures and points of view.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I believe that brain-drain is one of occurrences in the course of globalisation of industry worldwide.