Smart devices have put all of the world's information at our fingertips. What are the drawbacks of this development?

The advancement of technology serves as a linchpin for a better life. In particular, the emergence of smart devices like mobile phones, tablets etc. created an avenue for information technology. Despite this, there are contentions that this form of knowledge can minimize human interaction and create chaos to its users. The reliance for technology and absence of personal connections are the main points to this argument.

In a technology driven society, people's reliance to machine will gradually increase through time and will lead to total dependency. Moreover, the use of these machinery has an impact on how humans gather information. The value of internet is one main reason to this phenomenon. In the past, if students want to do research, they avail the service of the library and painstakingly search for books, magazines or references that can contribute to their project. Nowadays, the importance of this gesture is gradually devalued. High dependency on internet-capable devices is rampant and younger generations will never learn the value of hard work if this continues in the near future.

In addition, according to statistics, human interaction is significantly reduced due to unending use of this devices. Take mobile phones as a perfect example. This particular piece of device can multi-task giving more access to information technology. Students can now have an interaction with their professors without physically present in a classroom setting. Though it has a number of advantages but the essence of learning in a real classroom is greatly compromised and part of learning is to have live interaction with teachers. Thus, technology can hinder the strong bond between students and mentors.

In a nutshell, gathering or receiving information has been upgraded with the advent of technology but certain setbacks like dependency and loss of personal connection outweighs its advantages. It can be predicted that if this persists the value of human will be superseded by machines.