People today are capable of accessing the internet through their mobile smart
device. This puts them in touch with an extremely large amount of information.
Although this trend has many positive ramifications, such as interconnectivity
between people and the spreading of understanding, it is not without drawbacks. To
illustrate this, the effect smart devices have on their user’s memory and privacy will
be analysed.
For one, smart devices have caused people to rely less on their memories. For example,
sites like Wikipedia make it easy for smartphone users to quickly access information
on almost any topic. The problem with this convenience is that it encourages
people to commit fewer and fewer things to memory, and this makes humanity’s collective
understanding of the world increasingly dependent on machinery. Thus, this
is one of the main drawbacks to having unrestricted access to information through
smart devices.
In addition to this, smart devices reduce people’s privacy, which can lead to unwanted
exposure to public scrutiny and ridicule. For instance, last year a child in America
was unknowingly filmed by his classmate while performing an embarrassing dance
routine. After the video was uploaded to the internet, this child suffered extreme
teasing and ultimately developed anxiety issues. As this shows, the exchanging of
information through smart devices is not always a positive thing.
As the above makes clear, smartphone use can weaken a user’s memory and reduce
their privacy, two unfortunate drawbacks to a tool that has otherwise been very
positive for humanity. These drawbacks will likely remain ongoing obstacles into the
foreseeable future.