In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Gives reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

In some countries, some students choose to take travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Another young people prefer to work than travel. It is personal decision and it has advantages and disadvantages each other.

Travel is popular done by a number of students in some countries in for a year prior to start university studies. For example, young people visit interesting place in one country such as Bali tour in Indonesia where they can enjoy the beautiful world and cultural in Bali, and Eiffel tower in Paris where they can see directly the highest building in world, or other interesting places in their city. The benefits of this are that they will be more relax and they will get new experience. Otherwise, the drawbacks of this are that they might be going to be loss information to continue study in the best University and they maybe delay their study in the next year caused tired or it is related by financial.

On the other hand, some adult young people prefer to work. The first reason is to get income by themselves, specially for someone who has low financial background think that work is the best choise, so they can continue their study in University and the second is to get work experience to support their career in the future because most companies in the world need work experience before they recruit a employee to joint in their company. However, it also has downsides, such as usually most learners will be lazy and ignore to continue their study after working and get income by themselves.

In conclusion, both decisions to work or travel to spend their leisure time between finishing high and starting university study have advantages and disadvantages. However, if someone more focus on career and they have low financial background, it is better to prefer to work than travel because travel can be done after success, and if they are from high level of financial, it is better to do travel before continue their study in University, so they can be more relax.