For every kind and type of crime is expected a different punishment in accordance to the circumstances and motivations that loaded an individual to commit it. For this reason at the end of a trial, after the verdict of the jury, the judge expresses his final and absolute judgement and a sentence for the crime.

However, some people believe that a fixed punishment would guarantee in a more effective way, a fair respect of the law: since the law is identical for everyone they retain that the punishment has to be so as well. But how a burglar and a murder could be ever sentenced in the same way?

Appositively exist an extensive range of laws and a division was made between civil and penal cases to ensure a different sentence in accordance to the gravity of what has been committed. In fact, in the case itself of a murder, could be elements to judge it with different criteria then a similar one depending on the evidence, reasons, circumstances and many other facts. Asking the same kind of punishment is exactly the way not to respect the codes and rules the jurisdiction has, even though some people cannot completely realize and understand it.

In conclusion, according to my experience too, although someone would guarantee an equality for punishments in crimes, it has to be considered that criminal acts are different each one from the others, even if containing certain similarities and every person has to be judged and sentenced in the real respect of the law in order to serve the justice.