Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are lots of debates on punishments which should be considered for each kind of crime. While some people put forward the view that a fixed quantity of punishment should be utilized at different types of crime, others believe that fine should be issued based on the circumstances and the motivation of offenders.

Proponent of fixed punishment claim that justice under circumstances will be enforced which criminals are penalized equally. They argue that crime will minimize at these conditions owing to the fact that people are aware from the amount of their fine. Hereupon, they will not create any guilt and also trouble for others. In addition to this, small crimes will be disappeared, as far as I’m concerned they are a primary point for larger crimes. For example, criminal who perform worthless stealing like picking will be encouraged to release this wrong action because he is knowledgeable from his punishments that will be accounted like the action of a murderer.

On the other side, some people are of the opinion that the circumstances of crime, the motivation of criminal, and the consequences of crime on society should be taken into account when determining on the fine. They claim that trial is unfair in the event that various kinds of crimes have equal punishment. On the basis of their estimations, it is reasonable that everybody should pay fine in according to crime that has been perpetrated. For instance, someone who has performed a killing to protect himself from being killed or hurt and someone who is a innate murderer must not be punished equally.

To sum up, I personally believe that, although fixed punishment seems a good system, another aforementioned way is more logical. To the best of my knowledge, at holy book has been told that the amount of award or punishment of persons at other world will be based on their own operations in this world.