Some people feel that TV advertisements do not server a useful purpose. What is your opinion?

Although TV commercials cause some interruptions to TV viewing, it is difficult to argue that TV commercials do not serve a useful purpose. It is thus felt that TV commercials perform a few things necessary to audiences. Among these things, channel funding and facilitating information acquiring are the two most important reasons. These two things will be discussed before a reasoned conclusion is found.

Most TV channels survive upon performing the advertisements. It is universally acknowledged that all TV shows and movies are cost money to make yet they are free to watch. Thus it is impossible for the TV channels to make a business without revenue. The income from advertising company becomes an important part of the TV channel's revenue. It is hard to imagine that we can continue to enjoy free TV shows without occasionally watch commercials. Also, the rate of advertising commercials has been closely associated with the quality of the TV programme and thus the TV channels will be encouraged to make better TV shows for higher rate, and also results in elevated TV viewing experiences. Take one of the China countrywide channels for example, the rate for advertising before the spring festival show is hundred of millions for merely 20 seconds. Therefore it proves advertisements is necessary and has positive effects on TV channels.

The second important thing TV commercials provide is that commercials help customer to get information in an easy and simple way. For those who has real need for a product and willing to pay a price, lacking a way to find what the want is a big problem. TV commercials can be a very effective solution to the problem because it has the highest viewership than any other media. This is also the reason why so many fortunate 500 companies choose to invest into TV commercials across the world. This is because many countries are watching the same TV and getting more alike. For example, Apple has a very high sale in the world because they invest millions into TV commercials.

In short, TV commercials not only help channels to sustain financially but also provide customer a simple and easy way to find what they want. Therefore I believe that commercials have important roles to play and will not disappear anytime soon.