Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The healthier nation, the wealthier country. Public health is one of the most important sectors of any governments since healthy people can work longer contributing to a prosperity of a country. The government, therefore, should make efforts to continuously improve public health. The question is whether building sports centres improves public health significantly or not. In my opinion, constructing sports facilities is the best way to keep public healthy.

Nowadays, surprisingly, the most pervasive disease in the world is obesity, which triggers other lethal illnesses such as cardiovascular diseases. It is believed that people are suffering from obesity due to lack of sport. Moreover, most of obese people lead a sedentary lifestyle. Thus it would be a good solution to build sports facilities at offices where employees many of whom have insufficient time to visit fitness centres could do exercises at break times. In addition, some people most of whom are suffering from obesity can not visit sports centres due to the fact that they are either crowded or too costly. The government, consequently, should give an order to construct as many sports facilities as its budget allows to do so.

On the other hand, in order to achieve improvements in public health building only sports facilities might not be sufficient as there are some factors which contribute to improving it: sufficient hospitals and nutrition advice centres.

In conclusion, public health might be considered as the main wealth of any country since healthy people have a long longevity. Thus building sports centres is one of the best means to improve public health; nevertheless, other facilities which contribute to public health should not be neglected.