Many people believe that women make better parents than men and that is why they have the greater role in raising children in most societies. Others claim that men are just as good as women at parenting.

The number of men who take maternity leave nowadays is as great as it has never been before in human history, according to social statistics agencies. Historically it tends to be women, who rear children, while men usually are responsible for being breadwinners since they suit to the position for the following characteristics: maternal instincts, to understand children better than men do and psychological aspects. Nevertheless, the recent statistics indicate that men can be as well-qualified in child rearing as women are due to the following factors.

First of all, our lifestyle has substantially changed over the last two decades allowing to minimize gender gap. These days, for example, the same number of women can be seen in positions where men used to dominate. Thus, it has also triggered men to consider their role as a babysitter while the wives work. My uncle, for instance, brings up his daughter while his wife runs a company. The wife satisfies with how the man copes with the parenting role.

Secondly, it might be a big misconception that men are worse in raising children than women due to the fact that there is a significant number of single dads in most societies. Many fathers become a single parent due to either the loss or divorce taking a responsibility rear the children. Tom Cruise, for instance, is perfectly making the parenting despite his very busy schedule.

It is a controversial question that whether men or women do better parenting; however, it is likely that the role of the both agents are getting similar making difficult to determine the distinct one in the role.