The overuse of natural resources causes an ultimate exhaust of them. People have been using them to be in the swim of new styles such as making new furniture of recent design. This causes huge harm to the environment. Therefore, the government should discourage people the use of these resources. To what extent do you support or oppose the idea?

Recent satellite images taken by NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) have shown the significant reduction of green on the Earth. The organization also provided with the statistics that nearly third of forests have been chopped down for timber, house construction, etc. since 1980s. This is only one example of severe exploitation of natural resources. Therefore, governments have to launch drastic initiatives for decreasing pace of natural resources exploitation since they possess power.

Nowadays the most worrisome issue of overuse of the resources is deforestation; nevertheless, it used to be oil extraction in the last century. Forests are considered to be lung of the planet and home for a diverse variety of animals. Having destroyed 30 percent of forests all over the world, particularly in Amazonia and Siberia by private entities has substantially increased the level of air pollution resulting in greenhouse effect; moreover, it has resulted in extinction of several types of species and putting hundreds of animals in jeopardy of extinction. These facts are a global danger, therefore, the activities of companies in the industry must be controlled and discouraged as much as possible by the superb entity - government.

Governments are able to influence companies both directly and indirectly. Government’s means of direct intervention includes imposing taxes and legally limiting chopping down forests. Brazilian parliament, for instance, increased taxes on timber factories last year; this initiative has resulted in decreased exploitation of Amazonian rainforest. Indirectly governments can involve such environment protection organizations as Green Peace in influencing timber producing companies to make them understand that trees are a renewable resource, but it takes several years. Therefore, there should be a balance between chopping down trees and growing them.

Natural resources have a tendency of slow recovery. Thus, it is imperative that governments be responsible for preserving them from intense exploitation; otherwise, the consequences can be severe and irreversible.