Some people think it is necessary to push children in order to teach them the difference between right and wrong. Do you agree or disagree?

Children education has always been a issue receives high concern owing to the fact that parents anticipate their own children to have a better future. However, in my opinion, forcing children to recognize right from wrong is not necessary. I would like to address several reasons and examples to substantiate my perspective.

Research in the United Kingdom has shown that instead of telling children right from wrong from a particular event, children tend to learn them from their environment and the people who have intimate relationship between them. That is to say, apart from teaching children what is right and what is wrong, parents should do what tehy believe to be right on their children’s behalf. For example, if a mother keeps telling her children that people should not waste any food on the table, nevertheless, she leaves things during the meals, her children would otherwise think that it is acceptable and harmless to leave food on the table.

On the other hand, some people may argue that if people do not teach children right from wrong during every single event, yet letting them learn from their parents’ behavior, this may mislead children in certain ways. Therefore, they want to make sure that their children has built up the same consensus in their heart as their parents do.

I have to admit that I could understand the concerns and worries of every parent. Nevertheless, I believe parents should lead their children via a different method. Because things in the world cannot be simply classified as rights and wrongs all the time, parents should educate their children in order to obtain the ability to judge things for themselves. Children can learn about the benefits and disadvantages, the gain and sacrifice as well as the positive sides and negative sides of a particular event, object and situation. Therefore, children are able to adapt to the morality of their society.

In conclusion, I would like to disagree with the statement that parents should push their children in order to tell them right and wrong.