1. As greater numbers of people move to cities and as cities expand in size, city life loses its appeal.

2. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many parts of the world, people are moving into cities looking for a better job and what they think will be a better life. This trend became obvious in well-developed cities, due to their wide range of offers.

The general view is that, due to this flooding of people into cities, life has its drawbacks because cities are becoming more congested and polluted, and numerous aspects of life are a lot more stressful. Firstly, commuting or travelling from one side of the city to the other can be a real headache, especially in the rush hours. Roads are often crowded so, this leads to delays and because everyone is in a continuous hurry small accidents are happening. Secondly, pollution is a serious problem which is happening as a result to this massive wave of people who are moving into cities. The environment is suffering from this demand for factories because the waste from these is sometimes discharged in rivers and the gas released in the air, which is a real threat for people. Thirdly, accommodation is very expensive and ordinary people won't have the chance to buy their own apartment. The last, but not least, in big cities usually people won't feel safe because the crime rate is a crucial problem.

In spite all of these drawbacks, I'm not certainly sure that city life loses its appeal. Most of the people who choose to move into a larger city are doing this due to economic necessities. Earnings are far higher in cities than in the countryside, where people are farming, as an example. For others, city life is more appealing because in there they can find a range of shops. For this kind of people city life will never lose its appeal.

All in all, city life in not losing its appeal to the majority. People will always dream for a perfect life in the city.