The ease of international travel and the spread of various kind of mass media all over the world have made it more possible than ever for people to know how other people live in other countries. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages ?

Nowadays, people are living in an era with a booming international travelling tourism, which has no borders and with a thriving spread of mass media all over the globe. I believe that this trend only has advantages which are overwhelming the drawbacks.

The general view is that people are far more open to find out about new countries and places and that's why this kind of world-wide travelling has so many advantages. Firstly, the main benefit comes from the economic plan, which is very profitable for locals. It is not something new that tourism has become a serious factor in the industry, because, due to this massive flow of visitors or even journalists to new places, the locals can easily make profit from providing travelling services for them, like guides or hosts. Secondly, travelling without borders around the world means flourishing the knowledge about new cultures and people. It is an undeniable truth that going to a place and staying there for a while is a lot more different and mind-blowing than seeing it at the TV or reading about it. By being there is more efficiently to learn about culture, language and traditions.

On the other hand, international tourism can have some detrimental effects on both, environment and people. In detail, when a large number of visitors are in an interest place they can create some serious damages, with or without their will. By making this point I want to highlight that the beauty of the landscape can be ruined and garbage left behind by tourists is a real threat for animals. This spread of mass media and the continuous rising of the international tourism brings with it the need for tourist resorts, which I believe infringes the rights of the locals, who are forced to move somewhere else.

All in all, international travel and spread of mass media can only bring benefits to people if it is controlled. For so many countries the advantages of this trend are staggering.